The Compton Garden
The Compton Garden is a unique and peaceful place, commemorating Bishop Compton, Master of St Cross from 1669 – 1676. It lies within the Master’s Garden and was created in what had once been the Master’s vegetable garden. The Compton Garden was laid out in 1986, using plants originally imported from the New World at the time of Bishop Compton, who later became Bishop of London.
The Vice-President of Hampshire Gardens Trust at this time, the late Lady O’Neill of the Maine, was involved in the early days of the Garden. Her knowledge of St Cross and of Bishop Compton was a great assistance to Victoria Wakefield, also a member of the Trust, who designed the planting for the garden. Victoria is still the driving force behind the planning and planting of the garden, which was opened by Queen Elizabeth, the Queen Mother, on 8 July 1986. Previously, she had opened Queen Eleanor’s Garden at the Great Hall in Winchester.
’The Hospital of St Cross and Almshouse of Noble Poverty’ by John Crook celebrates the history of the Almshouse and Hospital and the 25th anniversary of the Compton Garden.
The general public is able to access the gardens as part of their admission to the Hospital for a small fee as follows:-